Today I am thinking about kindness. How do we as the human race view it? Is it letting someone cut the line in front of you when they’re late for work? Or donating money to a popular and positively influential Christian radio station? Is it picking up $40 of off someone’s porch and simply sliding the money into their mail slot? Or giving up your seat to an old woman on the bus?

My father has always said, kindness is never (or rarely) returned with kindness while evil is always returned three-fold. (I don’t mean karma) So it’s logical to avoid evil deeds in fear that it will come back to haunt you.  But then is there any incentive for us to be kind if we get nothing in return?

Isn’t the amazing thing about pure kindness is that it is unconditional? To show kindness just for the sake of doing it can be liberating… even magical. It should make us feel good, and for most of us it does – but that is a condition in itself. So is unconditional kindness then reserved for God only, who does everything unconditionally? Or can people truly and fully embrace love and give it back to the world…. just because?

I know we can!

I first heard the following song on KLove Radio. It’s so uplifting and lighthearted and funny, but also carries a deep message. Life should be kind and lighthearted and we have to remember not to focus on the little things that upset us in daily life. I try to remember this song every time I’m stuck in traffic or someone cuts me off. (Instead of honking or shaking my fist at the other person.) I take a deep breath and remember that I must be learning something from this if God has sent it my way. We are all beings of light – souls – and we can choose to live in kindness and love for others.

The song reminds me that there are things much bigger than me. We all have a purpose and remembering the big picture when the annoying details get in the way is extremely important.

I believe this awareness starts with kindness.

 

 

